top of page

Florida Authors and Publishers Assoc.

Yesterday was the FAPA awards. Mind Candy received a silver medal in the Young Adult: Science Fiction/Fantasy category. While I do not consider it only a YA anthology, I was cognizant of avoiding graphic sex or violence and minimizing the quantity and severity of offensive wording so it would not be excluded from the young adult market. I am very pleased it was giving a silver medal, as FAPA does not give out the awards just by who was best of the submissions they receive in a given year. This year there were categories where only a bronze or no medals were awarded. So I am quite proud of Mind Candy as Myriad Paradigm’s first publication. But I realize that as editor and publisher, what I do can stop a book from winning awards, but ultimately it is the stories, the writers, that win the awards. So thank you and congratulations to the writers that won this award.

bottom of page